Leadership

William Brockliss, Director

Classical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies
brockliss@wisc.edu

Will Brockliss is the director of CHE. He is also an associate professor in the Department of Classical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies, where he teaches courses on the Greeks, Romans, and the Natural Environment, and Ancient Monsters.

Will has published Homeric Imagery and the Natural Environment (Harvard/Center for Hellenic Studies 2019), as well as articles on landscapes of war, ecology in ancient texts, and monstrosity. He is currently writing a book on horror in ancient epic.

Steering Committee

Reba Luiken
Horticulture
rluiken@wisc.edu

Noreen McAuliffe
English and Nelson Institute
nmcauliffe@wisc.edu

Kirk Sides
English and African Cultural Studies
ksides@wisc.edu


James Spartz
Institute for Research on Poverty
jspartz@wisc.edu

Graduate Associate Organizing Committee

Ryan Hellenbrand
Environment and Resources
rhellenbran2@wisc.edu

Rebecca Laurent
Sociology, Community and Environmental Sociology
rllaurent@wisc.edu

Allyson Mills
Environment and Resources
agmills@wisc.edu

Calla Ward Olson
Environment and Resources
wardolson@wisc.edu

Edge Effects

Managing Editor
Bri Meyer

Anthropology
blmeyer2@wisc.edu

Faculty Advisor
Noreen McAuliffe

English and Nelson Institute
nmcauliffe@wisc.edu