Leadership

Anna Andrzejewski, Director

avandrzejews@wisc.edu

Anna Andrzejewski is the director of CHE. She is also a professor in the Department of Art History, where she teaches courses on the history of North American vernacular architecture and cultural landscapes. Anna is also an affiliate of the Department of Geography and the Program in Urban and Regional Planning, and she co-directs the buildings-landscapes-cultures PhD program (a collaboration with UW-Milwaukee).

Anna has published Building Power: Architecture and Surveillance in Victorian America (Tennessee, 2008) as well as many articles on postwar suburban architecture. She is currently finishing a book on the post World War II building industry; working with graduate students in art history and geography on a multi-year research project on the cultural landscape of the northern Great Plains; and beginning a project on the cultural landscape of retirement in south Florida.

Rachel Gurney, Assistant Director

che@nelson.wisc.edu

Dr. Rachel M. Gurney is the assistant director of CHE. She is an environmental sociologist with a background in journalism, environmental science, and sociology. Her current research focuses on climate adaptation, socio-political dimensions of climate change, and food insecurity.

Rachel specializes in interdisciplinary research bridging social and natural sciences, teaching environmental sociology, and communicating research to the public. She has years of experience in the environmental field, including advocacy and outreach for national and international environmental organizations, teaching and research, and publishing and editing social science environmental research for a variety of audiences and publication platforms.

Steering Committee

Will Brockliss
Classical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies
brockliss@wisc.edu

Eric Carson
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
eric.carson@wisc.edu

Sarli E. Mercado
Spanish and Portuguese
smercado@wisc.edu

Graduate Associate Organizing Committee

Treasurer
Aida Arosoaie
Anthropology
arosoaie@wisc.edu

Secretary
Kuhelika Ghosh

English
kghosh4@wisc.edu

Graduate Representative
Emery Jenson

English
ejenson@wisc.edu

Graduate Representative
Anika Rice

Geography
amrice2@wisc.edu

Edge Effects

Managing Editor
Richelle Wilson

German, Nordic, and Slavic
rwilson25@wisc.edu

Faculty Advisor
Mario Ortiz-Robles

English
mortizrobles@wisc.edu